Gluten-Free Labeling: Are Growth Media Containing Wheat, Barley, and Rye Falling through the Cracks?
- an article by Tricia Thompson, Melinda Dennis and Luke Emerson
“Bacteria, mold, yeast, and enzymes produced by bacteria are used in a variety of products, including probiotics and digestive enzymes. These microorganisms may be grown on media that may include ingredients derived from gluten-containing grain (ie, wheat, barley, and rye).
Some concern has been expressed in the celiac disease community that the use of gluten-derived/gluten-containing growth media may result in residual gluten protein fragments remaining in products containing microorganisms such as bacteria and mold.” [excerpt from our paper]
Read on to hear about a past study that also raised concern about growth media, results of recent testing of probiotics using both gluten-containing growth media and gluten-free growth media, and where we stand with regulations regarding labeling of allergens and gluten used in growth media. We also address where labeling laws are unclear about which ingredients meet the definition of “gluten free” for these products. Learn what questions consumers can ask manufacturers to get clearer answers regarding ingredients and gluten testing methods.
A summary of the article: